NTT DoCoMo and Samsung among new 5GAA board members

Image credit: Syda Productions /

The 5G Automotive Association (5GAA) announced that AT&T, Jaguar Land Rover, NTT DoCoMo and Samsung Electronics has joined its board following its General Assembly on May 11.

Existing members Audi, BMW Group, China Mobile, Daimler, Ericsson, Ford, Huawei, Intel, Nokia, SAIC Motor, Vodafone Group and Qualcomm will continue to serve on the 5GAA board.

Having AT&T, Jaguar Land Rover, DoCoMo and Samsung on the board will strengthen the position of 5GAA as a global, cross-industry association of automotive, technology and telecommunications companies, the organization said in a statement. It also reflects the diversity of 5GAA’s membership, both in terms of geographical spread and expertise.

“We are very pleased that AT&T, Jaguar Land Rover, NTT DoCoMo and Samsung Electronics have joined the 5GAA Board,” said 5GAA chairperson Christopher Voigt (Audi). “With their global footprint and diverse expertise, they will contribute to further connect communication and automotive industry to develop end-to-end solutions for future mobility and transportation services.”

Voigt and Thierry Klein (Nokia) will continue their respective roles as dhairperson and vice chairperson for a second term. The board of the association renewed the mandate of the outgoing executive committee: Dino Flore (Qualcomm) will continue to serve as Director General, Markus Dillinger (Huawei) as Secretary, and Fathi Arafat Husein El-Dwaik (BMW) as Treasurer.

The Board also confirmed the appointment of elected working groups chairs and vice-chairs.

Be the first to comment

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.